April 2, 2009

Honeybee by Naomi Shihab Nye

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 3:11 am by suebe2

honeybeeApril is Poetry Month:  Pick up a book of poetry today!

Honeybee

by Naomi Shihab Nye

Greenwillow Books/HarperCollins

Award winner this may be, but I picked it up on impulse.  I love Naomi Shihab Nye’s poetry and have been studying personal essays as well as prose poems.  When I saw this book face out at my library, I pounced on the opportunity to enjoy prose and poetry from one of my favorites.

As with any really good poetry collection, there are poems and prose to play on your every emotion.  “Museum” had me laughing aloud and looking for someone to read it to.  I smiled in appreciation at “Lion Park.”  After reading “Letters My Prez is Not Sending,” I had to go find my son and give him a huge hug.  I grimaced at the justice in “Cat Plate.”

But the piece that spoke most deeply to me?  You simply must read “Before I Read The Kite Runner.”  It sums up what I love most about books and why I write as well. 

That said, “Gate 4-A” left me with hope in the goodness of my fellows, people of compassion.

Don’t let the cartoony, child-like design fool you, this is a book for teens and adults.  There are poems about love and war and hate and loss and sexuality in our society.  They have a mature sensibility with which younger readers would not connect.

This one is going on my “must buy” list.

–SueBE

Leave a Reply

