March 23, 2015

Wolfie the Bunny by Ame Dyckman, illustrated by Zachariah OHora

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , at 1:23 am by suebe2

Wolfie the Bunny
by Ame Dyckman
illustrated by Zachariah OHora
Little, Brown and Company

When the Bunny family finds a baby wolf bundled up at their front door, Mama and Papa can barely contain their excitement.  They swoop him up and take him inside.  But not Dot.

“He’s going to eat us all up!” said Dot.

I can’t relate a whole lot about the book without giving too much away and I really do want you to discover this one for yourself.  It is a sweet, fun story about siblings.  Dot is absolutely certain that bringing Wolfie into the family is the worst mistake ever.  There’s no doubt in her mind, he will be the death of them all.

The very best picture books have surprise endings and this one is no different.  Danger presents itself but the resolution is surprising and fun.

This book wasn’t an easy sell for me.  I hadn’t seen much about the book itself, just the book cover here and there.  The cover alone just didn’t grab me.  Wolf, bunny costume . . . whatever.

But then I read an interview with Ame Dyckman.  She discussed not only what prompted her to write the story but also what pulled it altogether.  I love books that make use of a chorus (He’s going to eat us all up!) so I put in a request at my library and I’m glad I did.

Dot has so much personality.  She’s a bunny of strong opinions and doesnt’ mind sharing them with those around her.

The art work is acrylic but it reminds me of scratchboard.  Although the cover didn’t grab me, I loved the spreads and how OHora brought fairly tale motifs into the story. When you read the book, note Dot’s red jacket and her co-op shopping bag.  This is a clear play on Red Riding Hood.  But what part will Wolfie play?

This would make a fun story time book but be prepared for shouts of “He’s going to eat us all up!”  Face it, the effect just isn’t the same if you don’t shout it.

–SueBE

Leave a Reply

